The twenty-first stage of the Tour de France: Dream Champs Elysees! Irish sprint invincible, POGAČAR crowned king

On September 20th, the 21st stage of the Tour de France ended. Sam BENNETT's sprint before the finish line was unbeatable. The Irishman won the stage champion and the sprint king green shirt, realizing the dream of the Champs Elysees. In front of the Arc de Triomphe, POGAČAR wore a yellow shirt, a polka dot shirt for the climbing king and a white shirt for the best young driver. The future is promising.

In the tradition of the Tour de France, in addition to the Champs Elysees sprint, there is also the Arc de Triomphe in the sunset to award the championship. The last stage will be relatively easy. The biggest highlight is the sprint battle after the Champs Elysées circle. This is the last chance for sprinters to show themselves. Winning the Champs Elysées sprint is the lifelong dream of many drivers.
146 riders started the honorary ride in a relaxed and happy atmosphere. POGAČAR wore a yellow jersey for overall results, Sam BENNETT in a sprint green jersey, CARAPAZ in a bench climbing polka-dot jersey, and MAS put on the best substitute. Young rider in white shirt. The Movistar Team team used the yellow number plate as the best team, and the winner of the Super Combativity award Siski wore the red number plate.

ROGLIČ, who lost the game, was convinced and came to the front of the main group to celebrate the victory for POGAČAR. The two were opponents on the field and good friends off the field. Soon after, five Slovenians from the main group POGAČAR, ROGLIČ, POLANC (UAE TEAM EMIRATES), MOHORIČ (Bahrain McLaren) and MEZGEC (MITCHELTON-Scott) came to the front of the group to celebrate. The victory of this Tour de France belongs to the Slovenians.

After the Slovenians celebrated, six members of the UAE TEAM EMIRATES team came to the front of the group and rode side by side. This was the first time that the Middle East team won the Tour de France championship, and it was also the first time that Colnago became a champion since 1960. The last time was Gastone Nencini from Eddy Merckx's team. The 88-year-old Colnago founder, Ernesto Colnago, said: "Eddy Merckx was the first person to call me after POGAČAR's victory yesterday. We all cried with joy. This is really exciting."

The race officially began, and the teams are still celebrating in fancy. The 107th Tour de France journey of 3470 kilometers is about to end. The honorary ride from the start to the Champs Elysées is worth every rider to enjoy. The only level 4 climbing points in the competition were obtained by RUSSO (Team Arkea Samsic). The main group stood still and moved slowly towards the city of Paris. Team Arkea Samsic and TOTAL DIRECT ENERGIE, the leaders of the two wild truck teams, accelerated slightly, and the race entered the last 100km of the Tour de France.
This tour of POGAČAR is enough to be recorded in history. The last driver to win the championship on his debut in the Tour de France was Laurent Fignon in 1983. He won the championship before his 23rd birthday, and POGAČAR will also celebrate his 22nd birthday on September 21. . POGAČAR has won three stages in this Tour de France. The last driver to win multiple stages at such a young age was René Vietto in 1934. He won four Tour de France titles at the age of 20.

Not only that, POGAČAR will also be the first driver to wear a yellow shirt, a polka dot shirt and a white shirt at the same time in the Champs Elysées. The polka dot shirt was first established in 1975. The last rider to dominate all three leaderboards at the same time was Eddy Merckx in 1969, who won the total score, sprint and climbing list of the year (there was no specific jersey color for winning the climbing standings at the time). At the same time, POGAČAR is the youngest driver ever to win the climbing championship, breaking the record set by Charly Gaul at the age of 22 in 1955.

In the first hour after the race, the average speed of the main group was only 33.6km/h, which was very casual. The UAE TEAM EMIRATES team led the main group into the urban area of ​​Paris. For the last 56km, the main group passed through the Louvre, passed the glass pyramid designed by the Chinese architect Ieoh Ming Pei, and drove one by one into the Champs-Elysées, and Paris officially circled Start.

Cold knowledge: The Belgians have the most wins in the history of the Champs Elysées sprint. They are Walter Godefroot (1975), Pol Verschuere (1980), Freddy Maertens (1981), Eric Vanderaerden (1984), Rudy Matthijs (1985) ), Johan Museeuw (1990), Tom Steels (1998), Tom Boonen (2004) and Gert Steegmans (2008). Can this year's outstanding VAN AERT continue the Belgian glory in the Champs Elysees?
The first attacking POWLESS (EF Education First) touched the sensitive nerves of the main group, followed by SCHÄR (CCC), PéRICHON, EDET (Cofidis Solutions Crédits), VAN ASBROECK (Israel Start-Up Nation), Tony MARTIN (Team Jumbo-Visma) , ASGREEN (Deceuninck-Quick-Step), AMADOR and KWIATKOWSKI (INEOS Grenadiers) took turns to accelerate. The main group chased the breakout drivers one by one under the lead of DE GENDT (Lotto Soudal).

In the last 40km, PéRICHON, SCHACHMANN (Bora-Hansgrohe), SWIFT (Team Arkea Samsic) and VAN AVERMAET (CCC) left the main group. Among them, SCHACHMANN successfully won the first sprint point on the way, and Sam BENNETT was in the main group Leading position, fifth sprint point. So far, Sam BENNETT's sprint points are 70 points ahead of SAGAN. He will become the second Irishman in the history of the Tour de France to win the sprint king green shirt.

In the last 30km, the four breakout drivers only led the main group by 20 seconds, and DE GENDT led the team to pursue. Team Sunweb and Deceuninck-Quick-Step teams took turns to lead the pursuit. Each team tried to send their sprinter to the forefront of the group. In the last 9km, the time gap was shortened to 12 seconds. Team Jumbo-Visma came to the group. Leading position. Soon after SWIFT exited the breakout, VAN AVERMAET took the lead to enter the final lap, NTT team leader of the main group.
In the last 4km, CAVAGNA led the team to reclaim the breakout drivers. The race is about to enter the final big group sprint, and several sprint trains begin to pull at high speed. At 2km, ALAPHILIPPE brought the Deceuninck-Quick-Step sprint train to the forefront, and ASGREEN took the lead and passed the last corner. Behind Sam BENNETT is the world champion Mads PEDERSEN. SAGAN is isolated and helpless, exposed to the wind prematurely.

MØRKØV once again acted as the locomotive and brought out STUYVEN. The two windbreakers made outstanding contributions and gave the final boost to Sam BENNETT and Mads PEDERSEN behind him. Sam BENNETT and Mads PEDERSEN took the lead, VIVIANI failed to keep up with Sam BENNETT, and SAGAN bit the rear wheel of Sam BENNETT. At the last moment, Sam BENNETT and Mads PEDERSEN went hand in hand. The world champion lost to the green shirt winner and gradually fell behind. In the end, Sam BENNETT whizzed across the line and won his second victory in the Tour de France. Mads PEDERSEN was second behind by one space, SAGAN third, KRISTOFF fourth, and VIVIANI fifth. The Irish national champion finally realized the Champs Elysees dream.

The roar of the Irish announced the end of this Tour de France, and the award ceremony was held in front of the Arc de Triomphe in the sunset. POGAČAR ranked first in the overall ranking, ROGLIČ second, and Richie PORTE third. POGAČAR also won the overall yellow jersey, climbing king polka dot jersey and best young driver white jersey. This scene will be recorded in the history of the Tour de France. Sam BENNETT won the sprint king green shirt, Movistar Team won the title of best team, and Siski won the Super Combativity award.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Bitte beachte, dass Kommentare vor der Veröffentlichung freigegeben werden müssen

Spin to win Spinner icon