2021 Tour de France S13: 34 wins tied The Cannibal! Cavendish won the fourth championship of this TDF.

On July 9, the thirteenth stage of the Tour de France ended. Mark Cavendish (Deceuninck-QuickStep) kept a cool head in the final sprint battle, skillfully broke through the siege, won the stage with a wonderful sprint, and tied the 34 Tour de France matches of "The Cannibal" Eddy Merckx Segment wins.


The thirteenth stage is also a flat road stage with a longer distance of 219.9km, which is comparable to many spring classics. However, since it is a flat road stage, the overall difficulty is naturally not too great. There is only a 4-level slope (5.5km, 3.6%) and a sprint point on the way. Except for the climbing point, there was no big climb in this stage. Although there will be slight ups and downs in the second half, the difficulty is almost negligible. For cyclists, this will be a long day. Their greatest enemy may not be a specific opponent, but a crash that may be caused by a cyclist in the group who is distracted.


It is worth mentioning that the organizing committee adjusted the three-kilometer rule before the race and will try the 4.5-kilometer rule from today. This means that if an accident occurs within the last 4.5km of the race, the cyclist affected by the accident will not lose time, but will get the same crossing time as the group where the accident occurred.


▲Nils Politt (Bora-Hansgrohe) added a small medal to his number plate with a stage victory





At the beginning of the race, many cyclists started to break through, and even Christopher Froome (Israel Start–Up Nation) left briefly. After the war subsided, Omer Goldstein (Israel Start-Up Nation), Sean Bennett (Qhubeka Assos) and Pierre Latour (Total Direct Energie) successfully established a lead, leading the main group by 2 minutes and 10 seconds after the start of the race 35km. The main group slowed down and tried to save energy as much as possible. The time gap quickly rose to 4 minutes and 20 seconds after 10km, and the three people broke through the only level 4 climbing point in the game.


▲Tim Declercq (Deceuninck-QuickStep) continued to lead the main group diligently today. After 66km, the breakout group led by 3 minutes and 45 seconds.


▲The race was calm and the Deceuninck-QuickStep and Alpecin-Fenix ​​teams took on most of the lead tasks. The breakout three stabilized the time gap at about 2 minutes and 40 seconds after the start of the game 95km


Omer Goldstein led the team through the sprint point on the way, the main group came later, the Bahrain Victorious team sent an assist, Michael Matthews took the lead, Sonny Colbrelli followed closely, and Mark Cavendish was unmoved. In the end, Sonny Colbrelli grabbed the fourth sprint point, Michael Matthews fifth, Jasper Philipsen seventh, and Mark Cavendish eighth. The sprint decisive battle before the finish line of these sprinters is worth seeing.



▲The race quickly returned to calm, and the three broke out to lead the main group into the final 99km in 2 minutes and 38 seconds


▲Under the lead of Petr Vakoč (Alpecin-Fenix) and Tim Declercq, the main group closed the time gap to 1 minute 30 seconds at 72km from the finish line


In the last 67km, the breakout group speeded up on a short slope and began to pull each other. In the main group, Philippe Gilbert (Lotto Soudal) broke the silence and tried to attack away, but was bitten tightly by Pierre Rolland (B&B Hotels) and others, and the pace of the game improved in an all-round way. Soon after, Sean Bennett in the breakout group exhausted more energy and gradually fell behind. Only Omer Goldstein and Pierre Latour were left in front of the game.


The main group was chasing downhill at a high speed. The road suddenly changed from asphalt to gravel. A crash occurred in the group. Several cyclists fell off the track. Tim Declercq, Rafał Majka (UAE Team Emirates), Nacer Bouhanni (Arkea) -Samsic), Wout Poels (Bahrain Victorious), Sergio Andres Higuita (EF Education-Nippo), Søren Kragh Andersen (DSM) and others fell to the ground, Roger Kluge (Lotto Soudal), Simon Yates and Lucas Hamilton (BikeExchange) retired soon . Wout Van Aert then led the team to take over the lead position, and the main group began to wait for the cyclists behind.


In the last 58km, the breakout two had only 40 seconds to lead, and the two began to attack each other. After a brief adjustment, the main group recovered Sean Bennett. The former world champion Mads Pedersen and the current world champion Julian Alaphilippe began to tentatively pull the attack in front of the main group. Seeing that there is no hope of breaking through to win the championship, Omer Goldstein and Pierre Latour shook hands and made peace. The two returned to the main group safely in the last 53km and completed today's task.


In the last 45km, Quentin Pacher (B&B Hotels) attacked from the main group, flew away solo, and established a 55-second lead after 10km. After a while, Jan Bakelants (Wanty-Gobert) also picked up speed, left the slow-paced main group, and chased Quentin Pacher alone in front of him. The main group maintained a relatively stable riding rhythm under the leadership of Julian Alaphilippe, waiting for the final sprint.


▲In the last 28km, Jan Bakelants was chased back by the main group, Quentin Pacher led by one minute and 20 seconds alone, and the Mark Cavendish team still held the lead position firmly


▲The main group recovered Quentin Pacher in the last 19km, the Ineos Grenadiers team then took over the lead position, and Julian Alaphilippe fell behind after completing the task


The main group moved forward at high speed, and the teams began to quietly seize favorable positions. After a fierce battle for the position, the main group slowed down for a while, but soon began a melee. AG2R Citroën and Cofidis team leaders entered the final 5km, and a group sprint battle was inevitable.


Mattia Cattaneo (Deceuninck-QuickStep) led the team into the final 2km, and Mark Cavendish was in front of the group under the leadership of three teammates, and the game entered the final 1km. In the last long straight, the DSM team rushed to the front of the group. Mark Cavendish's lieutenant was dispersed, but he quickly adjusted his rhythm, shuttled freely in the main group, returned to Michael Mørkøv again, and entered the final launch process.


When the critical moment came, Mark Cavendish launched a powerful sprint, Jasper Philipsen followed closely, trying to achieve a surpass in the end. At this time, Mark Cavendish was already unstoppable. He once again won the stage championship beautifully, tying Eddy Merckx's Tour de France record with 34 wins. Michael Mørkøv was second in the stage and Jasper Philipsen was third.

After the stage, the four-color jersey remained unchanged. Tadej Pogacar has a yellow jersey and a white jersey for the best young cyclist. Mark Cavendish once again expanded the leading position of the sprint green jersey, and Nairo Quintana continued to wear a climbing polka dot jersey. Quentin Pacher won the Combativity award for the stage.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Bitte beachte, dass Kommentare vor der Veröffentlichung freigegeben werden müssen

Spin to win Spinner icon